News & Analysis of Economic, Racial, Gender Justice and More

FEATURING ZAHRA BILLOO – The US Supreme Court on Monday took the unusual step of allowing Donald Trump’s third revised version of a travel ban to take effect while urging appeals courts to rule on its constitutionality. The decision was 7 to 2 with only Justices Sonia Sotomayor and Ruth Bader Ginzburg dissenting.

While the order is not a ruling on the ban’s merits it does mean that citizens from 8 nations will face travel restrictions to the US. Six of those eight are Muslim majority countries – Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, Somalia, and Chad – joined by North Korea and Venezuela. Each nation has a slightly different set of restrictions placed on it.

The Supreme Court order comes only days after President Trump faced global condemnation for re-tweeting several virulently Islamophobic videos on his Twitter account.

For more information visit

Zahra Billoo, community organizer, civil rights lawyer, and Director of CAIR-San Francisco.

You’ve successfully subscribed to Rising Up With Sonali
Welcome back! You’ve successfully signed in.
Great! You’ve successfully signed up.
Success! Your email is updated.
Your link has expired
Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.