News & Analysis of Economic, Racial, Gender Justice and More

FEATURING DIEGO INIGUEZ-LÓPEZ – President Donald Trump’s administration has just announced an expansion of its 2017 travel ban, adding 6 new countries to the list of those restricted from emigrating to the US. All 6 nations are from the global south and four are from Africa. People from Nigeria, Sudan, Tanzania, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Myanmar will now face severe restrictions from arriving to the US. Based on fears of the spread of the new coronavirus Trump has also temporarily restricted travelers from China.

The President is expected to use his travel ban – affirmed by the Supreme Court – as a rallying point for his reelection. Critics have slammed the President’s move, saying it was yet another racist and xenophobic policy.

Diego Iniguez-López, Policy and Campaigns Manager with National Partnership for New Americans.

You’ve successfully subscribed to Rising Up With Sonali
Welcome back! You’ve successfully signed in.
Great! You’ve successfully signed up.
Success! Your email is updated.
Your link has expired
Success! Check your email for magic link to sign-in.